Welcome to 4GTuner
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

What oil should you run?

- - - - - Oil Evo iv Synthetic Conventional

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Ericjustin14

Ericjustin14

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • LocationCalgary, AB, Canada
I got a 96 Evo IV GSR. I'm new to the jdm and Evo scene so I'm probably gonna be asking a lot of noob questions but hey gotta start somewhere. Anyways what oil should I run in my Evo? I've heard all sorts of stuff from synthetic because it's a performance car to conventional becUse something about the turbo(?). Heard I should do 5-30 some say 10-40. What oil is best?!

Side note: it is my daily driver and I will have to drive it in cold tempuratures so maybe no thick oils till summer. Anyways all help is appreciated!

Geo&Kez

Geo&Kez

Advanced Member

• Donating Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,359 posts
  • LocationPerth
HPR 10-50 full zinc, was the general consensus last time this question was asked. Zinc is good for turbo bearings I think.
I HATE BEING BIPOLAR........IT'S AWESOME!!

evo-gsr

evo-gsr

Advanced Member

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10,379 posts
  • LocationBuddhist Temple NSW

But is that oil ok to use in cold climate ? 

[qoute name="BMGTZ" post="331212" timestamp="1467451744"]I don't know anything ...
Trust in the master of taxis.... He will set you straight[/quote]

Geo&Kez

Geo&Kez

Advanced Member

• Donating Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,359 posts
  • LocationPerth
Fuck, Canada. Yeah good point Jamo, didn't notice that. With my bearing clearances and squirters he would be ok........... Don't know about a proper engine but.