Welcome to 4GTuner
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

RVR Super sports gear vs Hyper sports gear

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Jenga

Jenga

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationNewcastle, NSW
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the world of RVR's, having just decided to buy one as a project (bought it for $1500, with a somewhat unhappy 4G63T, it'll be a great project I think). The thought of a turbocharged mini-minivan is quite alluring :)

Now what I've bought is (apparently) a Super sports gear, made in Dec 1995. Half green and half silver with an auto gearbox and a front bar from a HSG fitted. The odometer says it has about 110k km on it.

What I'm wondering is: What's the difference between the Super sports gear and the Hyper sports gear? Particularly engine wise?

The only obvious differences that I know about are the HSG came with a better interior with Recaros. As far as I know with the engine, the HSG basically had an Evo III motor while the SSG came with something more akin to a VR4 motor. I can't seem to find any info regarding the exact differences.

Since the motor isn't exactly happy (has a bit of a tick/knock noise about 3000rpm when it's warm), am I better off trying to rebuild this engine, or just find an Evo half cut and swap the gear over? I'd like to extract as much power out of the engine as possible but I'm not exactly sure what the current engine would be capable of if it were rebuilt.

Edited by Jenga, 24 October 2012 - 08:38 AM.

p055um5

p055um5

Advanced Member

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • LocationHunter Valley
RVR hsg/ssg difference